Student Success Services

Student Success Services

JARVIS CHRISTIAN COLLEGE

STUDENT SUCCESS SERVICES

Mission

Aligned with the College mission statement, the Student Success Services (SSS) program seeks to prepare each student intellectually, socially, spiritually and personally to participate in and contribute to an ever changing technological society.

Purpose

SSS serves as the College’s academic support center, providing personalized and group services and resources to support all students in the teaching and learning aspect of the institution’s mission. Services offered in SSS include:

 academic advising (for students with 0-30 credit hours)

 coordination of the First-Year Experience (FYE) class

 tutoring (face-to-face or online)

 retention and engagement activities

 computer, math, and writing laboratories

 study room

 administration of standardized tests

 disability support services (DSS)

Although the academic advising services are specific to students with 30 semester hours or less, all other services are provided to the entire student body.

Staff Name Email Position Extension*
Mr. Christopher Avery cavery@jarvis.edu Athletic Advisor 2305
Mr. Derek Hollman dhollman@jarvis.edu Retention Coordinator/

SAP** Advisor

2313
Mrs. Joyce Holt jholt@jarvis.edu Writing Lab Coordinator 2312
Mr. Jason C. Lewis jlewis@jarvis.edu Academic Advisor 2307
Dr. Tequecie V. Meek tmeek@jarvis.edu Dean of Academic Services/

DSS Coordinator

2302
Mrs. Susana Ngwang sngwang@jarvis.edu Dir. of Academic Advising/

Testing Coordinator

2301

Contributions can be sent to:
Office of Institutional Advancement
Jarvis Christian College
P.O. Box 1470
Hawkins, TX 75765